Skip to Content
Personal Service With Integrity

Oregon Considers Increasing Treatment Time for DUII Offenders


The State Department of Human Services is considering making some significant changes in the length of treatment for persons convicted of DUII. Currently, a person convicted of DUII is required to participate in treatment for a minimum of 90 days, remain abstinent from all drugs and alcohol during that period of time and submit to urine testing to confirm abstinence.

Under the proposed rules, there would be a minimum of 50 hours treatment over six months for first offenders and 100 hours of treatment over one year for a person convicted of a second or subsequent DUII. These changes would substantially increase the cost of treatment for DUII offenders, who would be forced to pay for the added treatment sessions and the additional urine testing.

Increasing treatment duration can have positive effects for persons convicted of DUII who suffer from alcohol or drug dependence. However, a significant number of people who receive DUIIs are not in need of extended treatment, and only need education and a short exposure to the treatment environment.

At James F. O’Rourke, Jr. and Associates we carefully review our clients’ needs and history and help our clients select qualified treatment providers who meet their individual needs and satisfy the requirements of a DUII Diversion or treatment ordered after a conviction.

By James F. O’Rourke Jr.

The post Oregon Considers Increasing Treatment Time for DUII Offenders appeared first on JFO Law.

Share To: